Five First Saturdays

In Reparation to the Immaculate Heart of Mary

First Saturday of Every Month

September 4, 2021

October 2, 2021

November 6, 2021

December 4, 2021

January 1, 2022

in the
Adoration Chapel

What are the Five First Saturdays?

Our Lady explained those Five First Saturdays to Sr. Lucia dos Santos, one of the Fatima visionaries, on Dec. 10, 1925, in the following way:

See, my daughter, my Heart encircled by thorns with which ungrateful men pierce it at every moment by their blasphemies and ingratitude. Do you, at least, strive to console me? Tell them that I promise to assist at the hour of death with the graces necessary for salvation all those who, in order to make reparation to me, on the First Saturday of five successive months:

  1. Go to Confession
  2. Receive Holy Communion
  3. Say five decades of the Rosary
  4. Keep me company for a quarter of an hour, meditating on the … mysteries of the Rosary

Why five First Saturdays in particular? Jesus explained this to Sr. Lucia on May 29-30, 1930, saying:

Daughter, the motive is simple: There are five kinds of offenses and blasphemies spoken against the Immaculate Heart of Mary.

  • First: blasphemies against the Immaculate Conception
  • Second: against her Virginity
  • Third: against the Divine Maternity, refusing, at the same time, to receive her as the Mother of mankind
  • Fourth: those who seek publicly to implant, in the hearts of children, indifference, disrespect, and even hate for this Immaculate Mother
  • Fifth: those who revile her directly in her sacred images

Reparation to the Immaculate Heart of Mary include the following elements, performed with the intention of reparation for blasphemies against the Immaculate Heart, for at least five consecutive months:

  • Confession (on the First Saturday or Sunday of the month — so long as the person receives Holy Communion in a state of grace);
  • Holy Communion received within 8 days of the First Saturday of each month;
  • The Holy Rosary, five decades recited sometime during the day; and
  • Meditating for 15 minutes on the Mysteries of the Rosary (one or more).

Click here to learn more!