The Seven Sacraments of the Church




What is a Sacrament?

The catechism (#1131) defines a sacrament as “an efficacious sign of grace, instituted by Christ and entrusted to the Church, by which divine life is dispensed to us.” They are outward expressions of God’s love for His people. Their purpose is to make people holy, to build up the body of Christ, and finally, to give worship to God.

The Sacraments of Initiation
BaptismConfirmationThe Eucharist

The Sacraments of Healing
ReconciliationAnointing of the Sick

The Sacraments of Vocation
MatrimonyHoly Orders