The Seven Sacraments of the Church

What is a Sacrament?

The catechism (#1131) defines a sacrament as “an efficacious sign of grace, instituted by Christ and entrusted to the Church, by which divine life is dispensed to us.” They are outward expressions of God’s love for His people. Their purpose is to make people holy, to build up the body of Christ, and finally, to give worship to God.

The Sacraments of Initiation

BaptismConfirmationThe Eucharist

The Sacraments of Healing

ReconciliationAnointing of the Sick

The Sacraments of Vocation

MatrimonyHoly Orders